Glossary

What Meta Actually Publishes About the Facebook Post Character Limit

Taras Shynkarenko
Taras Shynkarenko
β€’Updated: β€’7 min read
What Meta actually publishes about the Facebook post character limitWhat Meta actually publishes about the Facebook post character limit

TL;DR, Quick Answer

7 min read

Meta does not state a Facebook post character limit in the Pages API Posts guide, the Graph API Page feed reference or the Help Centre, so the widely repeated 63,206 figure has no current Meta source. The feed reference only says the message field is "the main body of the post," and the one counting unit Meta documents for that text is Unicode code points. The only length Meta recommends for feed copy is the Ads Guide's 50 to 150 characters of primary text.

What is the Facebook post character limit?

Meta does not print a Facebook post character limit in its current developer documentation or its Help Centre, and the 63,206 figure that third-party guides repeat does not appear in either place. That number gets quoted widely, including in older posts on this blog, and none of those quotes link to a live Meta page that states it.

I went looking in the four places a limit would have to live if Meta wanted developers and Page admins to find it.

Meta sourceWhat it says about post textLength limit stated
Pages API, Posts guidemessage "set to the text for your post"None
Graph API reference, Page feed"The main body of the post. The message can contain mentions of Facebook Pages"None
Pages API, Error CodesError codes for insights, permissions and shared postsNo length error
Facebook Help Centre search44 results for "post character limit", none with a numberNone

So the honest answer is that Meta has not written a ceiling down. For a Page admin writing a normal update, that gap never matters. For anyone validating copy in code before a scheduled send, it means there is no official number to validate against.

The 63,206 claim versus Meta's own pages
What guides repeat
  • 63,206 characters, quoted across many guides
  • No link to a live Meta page that confirms it
  • Repeated in older posts on this blog too
What Meta's four pages say
  • Pages API Posts guide: no length limit
  • Graph API Page feed reference: no length limit
  • Help Centre search: 44 results, none with a number
The four places a Facebook post character limit would have to live if Meta had published one.

Where does Meta describe the text of a Facebook post?

Meta describes post text in two developer pages, and both treat it as a plain string with no size attached. The Pages API Posts guide tells you to send a POST request to /page_id/feed with "message set to the text for your post," alongside an optional link and a published flag. The Graph API Page feed reference gives the same field one sentence: "The main body of the post. The message can contain mentions of Facebook Pages, @[page-id]."

The reference adds one rule that does constrain text: "Either link or message must be supplied." A post can be all text, all link, or both, but not neither.

What the docs leave out is as telling as what they include. There is no maximum on message, no recommended length, and no error code for text that is too long. Compare that with Threads, where Meta spells out 500 characters and counts emoji as UTF-8 bytes, or Instagram, where the Graph API caps captions at 2,200 characters and 30 hashtags. Facebook is the one Meta network whose post text has no published number.

How does Facebook count characters in a post?

Facebook indexes post text in Unicode code points, which is the only counting unit Meta documents for the message field. The Page feed reference describes the message_tags array, and both of its position fields use that unit: offset is "the location in unicode code points of the first character of the tag text in the message," and length is "the length of the tag text, in unicode code points."

That sentence is about where a tag sits, not about the length cap. Meta never says the limit uses the same unit. It is still the best evidence available, and it matters for emoji, because different counting methods disagree about them.

TextCode pointsJavaScript .lengthUTF-8 bytes
Hello555
πŸ˜€ U+1F600124
πŸ‘©β€πŸ‘©β€πŸ‘§β€πŸ‘¦ family emoji71125

If your own code checks Facebook copy, count with Array.from(text).length, which returns code points. JavaScript's plain .length counts UTF-16 units and overstates every emoji outside the Basic Multilingual Plane. The byte count is the Threads rule and does not apply to Facebook.

A person types on a laptop at a cafΓ© table, next to the section on Meta's recommended text lengths for feed copy.

What text lengths does Meta recommend for Facebook?

Meta recommends 50 to 150 characters of primary text for a Facebook Feed image ad, and that is the only length guidance Meta publishes for copy in the feed. The Meta Ads Guide lists it under Text Recommendations for the Facebook Feed placement, next to a 27-character headline. These are advertising specs, but the feed that shows an ad is the same feed that shows a Page post, so they are the nearest official hint at how much copy people see before they tap.

The Page feed reference adds two truncation notes, both for multi-link posts built with child_attachments, which takes "Minimum 2 and maximum of 5 objects." Each link card's name "will typically be truncated after 35 characters," and its description "will typically be truncated after 30 characters."

FieldMeta's numberSource
Post messageNone publishedPage feed reference
Feed ad primary text50 to 150 charactersMeta Ads Guide, Facebook Feed
Feed ad headline27 charactersMeta Ads Guide, Facebook Feed
Link card name in a multi-link postTruncated after 35Page feed reference
Link card descriptionTruncated after 30Page feed reference

Meta publishes no figure for where an organic post collapses behind "See more." Any number you have seen for that cutoff comes from someone measuring their own screen.

How long should a scheduled Facebook post be?

A scheduled Facebook post should carry its point inside the first 150 characters and stay short enough to fit every other network it is cross-posted to. Check the rules Meta does publish first. This is the order I check a post in:

  1. Write the hook in the first 150 characters, the top of Meta's recommended range for feed copy, so the point lands before any "See more" cutoff.
  2. If the same copy goes to Instagram or Threads, size it for the strictest network. Threads stops at 500 characters and Instagram at 2,200, while Facebook states no ceiling at all.
  3. Count emoji in code points if you validate in code, using Array.from(text).length.
  4. Keep link card titles under 35 characters and descriptions under 30 when you build a multi-link post.
  5. Set the publish time inside Meta's scheduling window. The Posts guide says "The publish date must be between 10 minutes and 30 days from the time of the API request," while the feed reference allows 75 days. Stay under 30 days and both pages agree.

A queued post can also fail for reasons that have nothing to do with text, such as an expired Page token, a revoked permission or a cap on post volume. The Facebook post limit per day covers the volume side. For the full queue workflow, the guide on how to schedule Facebook posts walks through each step.

AdaptlyPost
AdaptlyPost

Start Your 7-Day Free Trial

All-platform analytics

Social Inbox

AI-powered assistant

Does the Facebook character limit change when you cross-post?

The Facebook side of a cross-post has no published limit, so the binding limit is always the other network's. A 3,000-character Facebook caption fails on Instagram, where the Graph API returns error code 36004 for captions over 2,200 characters. Going the other way, Meta publishes no Facebook ceiling that a 2,200-character Instagram caption could break.

That asymmetry is the practical reason to draft for the stricter network first. The walkthrough of cross-posting from Facebook to Instagram covers the rest of the differences, from aspect ratios to link handling.

A smartphone screen shows a row of social app icons, next to the section on where AdaptlyPost fits into cross-platform publishing.

Where AdaptlyPost fits

AdaptlyPost publishes to Facebook Pages, and its posts adjust to each platform's requirements, character limits included, when one draft goes to several networks. Facebook publishing is Pages-only: personal profiles and Groups never appear as connected accounts. Over the API, contentType TEXT sends the text field straight to the Page timeline, with no link-preview control, first comment, @mention or location field, so the copy you write is the whole post.

The Facebook post scheduler covers text posts, photos, videos and Reels from one calendar. If you publish from your own code, posting to Facebook via API takes one POST /social-posts request per Page, and posting to multiple accounts at once is where the per-platform adjustment happens when Facebook shares a draft with Instagram, Threads or X.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Facebook post character limit 63,206 characters?

Meta does not state that number in any current source. The Pages API Posts guide, the Graph API Page feed reference and the Help Centre all describe post text without a maximum. The 63,206 figure is repeated by third-party guides without a link to a Meta page that confirms it.

Does the Facebook Graph API reject posts that are too long?

Meta documents no length error for the message field. The Pages API Error Codes page lists errors about insights, permissions and shared posts, and none about text length. If a limit exists at the API, Meta has not published its value or the error it returns.

How does Facebook count emoji in a post?

Meta measures positions in post text in Unicode code points, according to the message_tags fields in the Page feed reference. By that unit, πŸ˜€ counts as 1 and the four-person family emoji counts as 7. Meta does not say whether its length cap uses the same unit.

How many characters show before "See more" on Facebook?

Meta publishes no cutoff for organic posts. The closest official guidance is the Meta Ads Guide, which recommends 50 to 150 characters of primary text for Facebook Feed ads. Putting the main point inside the first 150 characters keeps it visible under that guidance.

Is the Facebook character limit the same for Pages, profiles and groups?

Meta's developer documentation covers Page posts through the Pages API, and it states no text limit for them. Meta publishes no separate figure for profiles or groups either. AdaptlyPost publishes to Facebook Pages only, so profile and group limits do not apply to posts sent through it.

How far ahead can you schedule a Facebook post?

The Pages API Posts guide sets the window at 10 minutes to 30 days from the API request, and the Page feed reference says 10 minutes to 75 days. Scheduling inside 30 days satisfies both pages. Text length has no effect on the scheduling window.

What character count should I aim for if Facebook sets no official limit?

Meta publishes one length figure for feed copy: 50 to 150 characters of primary text, listed in the Ads Guide for Facebook Feed placements. Aiming for that range keeps the point visible before any "See more" cutoff, even though it comes from ad specs rather than a post rule. If the same copy goes to Threads or Instagram, size for whichever network's stated limit is shorter.

Can a Facebook post be just a link with no message text?

Yes. The Page feed reference says "Either link or message must be supplied," so a post needs at least one of the two. A post can be pure text, pure link, or a mix of the two, but the feed API does not accept a request that supplies neither.

The Page feed reference gives multi-link posts two truncation notes: a card's name "will typically be truncated after 35 characters" and its description after 30. The message field carries no matching rule anywhere in that same reference, which is why post text has no stated ceiling while link cards do.

Does AdaptlyPost shorten a Facebook post before sending the same draft to Instagram or Threads?

AdaptlyPost adjusts each draft to the platform it lands on, so a caption too long for Instagram's 2,200-character cap or Threads' 500-character cap gets sized down for those networks even though Facebook itself sets no ceiling. Facebook publishing runs through Pages only, and the API sends the text field straight to the timeline with no extra fields to check. Multi-account posting is where that per-platform sizing happens when one draft reaches several networks.

AdaptlyPost
AdaptlyPost

Start Your 7-Day Free Trial

All-platform analytics

Social Inbox

AI-powered assistant

Was This Article Helpful?

Let us know what you think!

See us more often in Google

One click marks AdaptlyPost as a preferred source, so our articles sit higher in your Top Stories, AI Mode, and AI Overviews.

Before you go...

AdaptlyPost

AdaptlyPost

Schedule your content across all platforms

Manage all your social media accounts in one place with AdaptlyPost.

All-platform analytics

Social Inbox

AI-powered assistant

Related Glossary Terms

Related Articles